Your new design will be uploaded in:
...
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.
X

North Road, Dewsbury, West Yorkshire, WF13 3AD

office@diamondwoodacademy.co.uk

01924 325308

Diamond Wood Community Academy

School Holiday Dates

 

Return to School - Tuesday 8th September 2020

 

October Half Term - W/c Monday 26th October 2020

Return to School - Tuesday 3rd November 2020

 

Training Day  - School closed Monday 7th December 2020

 

Inset Day - Friday 18th December 2020

 

Christmas Holiday  - W/c Monday 21st & 28th December 2020

Return to School - Monday 4th January 2021

 

February Half Term - W/c Monday 15th February 2021

Return to School - Monday 22nd February 2021

 

Easter Holiday - W/c Monday 29th March & Monday 5th April 2021

Return to School - Monday 12th April 2021

 

Bank Holiday - School closed Monday 3rd May

Polling Day - School closed Thursday 6th May 2021

 

May Half Term - W/c Monday 31st May 2021

Return to School - Monday 7th June 2021

 

Summer Holidays - Last Day in School Friday 23rd July 2021

 

Training Days - School closed Monday 26th July 2021 

 

 

Term Time Leave

 

I am writing to remind you of the changes that the government made in relation to the authorisation of family holidays and extended leave.  These changes came into effect on 1st September 2013.

The changes removed the right for Head Teachers to authorise family holidays and extended leave. This means that the only way that leave can be granted is if there are ‘exceptional’ circumstances.  Therefore, any holidays or extended leave taken in term time, deemed not to be ‘exceptional’, cannot be authorised.

Our school believes that children should not miss school in order to go on holidays in term time. Evidence shows that extended absence from schools can be damaging. It can result in insufficient coverage of the National Curriculum and children failing to achieve the expected levels.

It is well recognised that good, consistent attendance at school is important to a child or young person’s future prospects.

 

Penalty Notices

 Penalty Notices may be issued:

  • If parents take their child out of school for a holiday in term-time
  • If the Head Teacher has refused the request but the absence occurs anyway;
  • If a pupil has not returned to school by the agreed date with no satisfactory explanation;

 

AND

  • Where the absence has been recorded by the school as unauthorised in the attendance register on at least 10 sessions (5 school days) during the current term.

 

The Penalty Notice is for £60, for each parent of each child, if paid within 21 days, and £120 if paid between 22 and 28 days.