Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Key Stage Information

Here at Diamond Wood Community Academy we are an Infants only School. This means that we offer education for children from Nursery to Year 2.  Although we are an infants only school, we are a large school with typically 4 classes per year group. This is alongside our Nursery setting which offers both morning and afternoon sessions.


Our Nursery and Reception pupils are in the 'Early Years Foundation Stage'

Our Year 1 and Year 2 pupils are in Key Stage One (KS1). 

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Nursery (3 to 4 year olds*)      Reception (4 to 5 year olds)

In Nursery and Reception, children embark on a journey of discovery and exploration. We create a happy and caring environment where all children feel valued and safe and where they will have the opportunity to develop positive relationships with all the adults and children within our setting. 

Our environments follow a holistic approach and allow children to access classrooms, shared areas and the outdoor classroom/ garden areas. Within each area of learning, children are exposed to curriculum based skills through play. Each area has a planned provocation or challenge, adult enhanced provision and materials to extend their learning, all running alongside our continuous provision.

As we teach children independence and structure our timetable will adapt across the year. Carpet input sessions will get longer and group sizes will get bigger. This is all to help prepare children for a smooth transition into Year One.

Take a look at the video below to look at part of our

Early Years environment. 

Areas of learning

The EYFS is made up of seven key areas of learning and development that shape our educational programme in school. More specifically, these have then been broken down into ‘prime’ and ‘specific’ areas of learning.


Prime Areas

The prime areas are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, build their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These are:

  • Communication and Language (C&L)
  • Physical development (PD)
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development (PSED)


Specific Areas

The following are the specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy (L)
  • Mathematics (M)
  • Understanding the World (UW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

Characteristics of Effective Learning 

The Characteristics of Effective Learning describe behaviours children use in order to learn. To learn well, children must approach opportunities with curiosity, energy and enthusiasm. Effective learning must be meaningful to a child, so that they are able to use what they have learned and apply it in new situations. As practitioners, we are constantly observing to see if pupils are developing strong characteristics of effective learning. The three highlighted within the EYFS Framework are;

  • Playing and Exploring – engagement
  • Active Learning – motivation
  • Creating and Thinking Critically – thinking

For more information about the Early Years Foundation Stage please browse the following useful documents. You are also more than welcome to contact our Early Years leader, Mrs Tombling. She can be contacted via the school email address. 

Click here to view the EYFS framework

Click here to view Development Matters

Click here to view Birth to 5 Matters


Key Stage One (KS1)

Year 1 (5 to 6 year olds)      Year 2 (6 to 7 year olds)

At the end of their Reception year, pupils leave the Early Years Foundation Stage and enter Key Stage One (KS1). They remain in this key stage for the remainder of their time here at Diamond Wood Community Academy. At the end of Year 2, our pupils will leave us and move on to Junior School. At this point, they leave KS1 and enter KS2.

In KS1, learning moves on from engaging with different areas of learning to studying specific subjects. The National Curriculum produced by the Department for Education (DfE) sets out the programmes of study and attainment targets for all of these subjects. The subjects taught are divided up into two groups; core and foundation subjects. It is important to note that within our school we do introduce the names of the subjects to our pupils in the EYFS to support them with this transition.


Core Subjects 

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science  

Foundation Subjects

  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology 
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical Education 
  • Personal Development (PHSE and RHE)
  • Religious Education (RE) 


Teachers assess the children against the National Curriculum year objectives, assisted by our bespoke tracking system. This ensures rigorous, continuous diagnostic assessments and impacts teachers’ practice to enable them to monitor academic progress and attainment. This also ensures early identification of those making less than expected progress followed by swift action of intervention. Our more vulnerable children make expected and accelerated progress from starting points considered as ‘well below’ nationally. Standardised assessments are also used for English and Maths. 


National Tests and Assessments in KS1


Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether they need extra help with reading. If your child does not achieve the pass score in the check they’ll do it again in Year 2.


Key stage 1 tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • Maths - arithmetic and reasoning

Your child will take the tests in May. They are more commonly known as SATs tests.

You will be provided with your child's SATs results.

For more information about KS1 please browse the following useful documents. You are also more than welcome to contact our Year 1 or Year 2 leaders. Mrs Lillie and Mrs Booth are the Year 1 leaders. Miss Fox is our Year 2 leader. They can all be contacted via the school email address.

Click here to view the Primary National Curriculum. See KS1 only

Click here to view the Teacher Assessment Framework

Click here to view the Pre-Key Stage Standards

Click here to view the Engagement model


For support or guidance email

Year Group Long Term Plans for 2023-2024

Each year group has their own Long-Term Plan (LTP) for the academic year. This details an overview of what will be taught in each Area of Learning (EYFS) or Subject (KS1) across the year. To create this, leaders, teachers and specific subject leaders worked collaboratively  to ensure coverage of content and ensure progression of knowledge, skills, experiences and vocabulary across school.

Alongside these long-term plans, subject leaders create Medium-Term Plans (MTP) for their subject areas. These plans show each Unit of Work in more detail. Subject leaders work alongside year group leaders and class teachers to do this, using subject progression maps to guide them.

The Year Group Long-Term Plans are available below. 

If you would like any further information on the curriculum please email and address the email to the relevant Year Group Leader who will be able to help you further:

  • Nursery and Reception - Hannah Tombling

  • Year 1 - Rachel Booth / Johanna Lillie

  • Year 2 - Jessica Fox

Click here to view our Long-Term Plan for Nursery.  

Click here to view our Long-Term Plan for Reception.  

Click here to view our Long-Term Plan for Year 1.  

Click here to view our Long-Term Plan for Year 2.